JSC Serbian Railways


Mihajlovic: Projects with PR China worth €13 billion, to intensify cooperation in the field of investments

Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Construction, Transport and Infrastructure, Zorana Mihajlovic, spoke today with the delegation of the Ministry of Commerce of the People’s Republic of China, led by

Vice Minister, Qian Keming.

“The Republic of Serbia and the People’s Republic of China have improved economic co-operation, encouraged by good and strong ties between the two Presidents. These good relations and their mutual visits are also reflected in the trade increase between the two countries, which is 15 times higher than in 2008 and three times higher than in the previous year,” said Mihajlovic.

She emphasized that the economic cooperation between the two countries is particularly good in the area of ​​infrastructure, where the value of joint projects is about €13 billion. “Chinese companies are bringing knowledge and modern technologies to Serbia, and that is why it is good that together we build highways and the first high-speed railway in this part of Europe,” Mihajlovic said, adding that today the first freight train from China arrives, with equipment for Belgrade-Budapest railway.

Qian Keming agreed with the high ratings of the achieved level of economic cooperation, which was encouraged by reciprocal visits by highest management of the two countries. “Serbia is the first country to sign a Memorandum of Cooperation under the One Belt, One Road initiative, and we have seriously analyzed the possibilities for cooperation with Serbia in the implementation of this initiative, as well as in the re-industrialization of Serbia. We will continue to encourage Chinese companies to come to Serbia and invest,” said Qian.

Specific ways to enhance further economic and trade cooperation were also discussed at the meeting, as well as the organization of the special workgroup on investment, for which the Agreement should be signed at the next Summit of Heads of Government of China and 17 countries of Central and Eastern Europe.